Name Grad Sport Notes
James M. Branch 1897 Football
Robert Thomas 1912 Baseball
James Waddell 1912 Baseball
Harold Pogue 1916 Football All American ATO WM -"best Illini FB player before Red Grange"
George Cap Squirer 1917 Football All American
Lee Sentman 1931 Track World Record Holder – All American – Big Ten Medal of Honor
Wayne Lockwood 1931 Swimming Captain
Paul W. Reddish 1933 Fencing Captain
Edward Schalk 1933 Football
Kendall Bradley 1935 Football
R.E. Hewitt 1935 Swimming
Robert Ingle 1939 Swimming and Water Polo
Lewis Pick Dehner 1939 Basketball Won Ralph Woods Memorial Trophy
Joe Giallombardo 1940 Gymnastics All American multiple NCAA and Big Ten titles – Captain
Ralph Ehni 1941 Football Scored Illini's only touchdown ever against Notre Dame
Edward F. McGovern 1943 Football
Eugene F. Modjeska 1943 Golf
Roy A. Wasson 1943 Track
Don Delaney 1945 Basketball Big Ten Medal of Honor
George Delong 1946 Wrestling Captain
Stanley Green 1946 Football
Walter Junior Kirk 1947 Basketball All American – Captain Ralf Woods Trophy winner
John Twomey 1947 Track
Bob Chick Doster 1948 Basketball
Donald H. Scherwat 1948 Swimming Captain
Harry E Andersen 1949 Track
William M. Cooley 1949 Track
Hal B. Craig 1949 Basketball
John W Haulenbeek 1949 Swimming Captain
Jim Marks 1949 Basketball Ralf Woods Trophy winner
Jim Cottrell 1950 Basketball
Van Anderson 1950 Basketball
Bill Erickson 1950 Basketball All American – Captain
Burdette Pirate Thurlby 1950 Basketball and Baseball
Walt Slip Kersulis 1950 Basketball Football 2nd team All Big Ten Football
Don Leuthold 1950 Track
Vic Twomey 1950 Track/Cross Country Captain
Wilson Besant 1950 Tennis Big Ten Champion (with Moses)
Jim Moses 1951 Tennis Big Ten Champion (with Besant)
Alan G. Farmer 1952 Tennis
Louis E. Krantz 1952 Baseball Captain
Byron H. Luers 1952 Swimming
Robert B. Peterson 1953 Basketball
Joel M. McNulty 1953 Track
Bruce Frazier 1953 Baseball Captain
Robert A. Moore 1953 Baseball Baseball MVP
Joel M. McNulty 1953 Track
Ron Ultes 1954 Baseball Captain
Ralph Waldo Peterson 1954 Track
Wayne D. Vieth 1954 Track
Stephen Hill 1955 Tennis
Jack Chamblin 1955 Football Illini Team MVP
Frank S Kastor 1955 Wrestling
Kenneth E. Nordquist 1955 Wrestling
Bruce Brothers 1956 Basketball
Ronald J. Yochem 1956 Football
Bill Altenberger 1957 Basketball
Rodney F. Hanson 1957 Football Illini Team MVP
William R. Muther 1957 Wrestling
Donald A. Pierre 1957 Wrestling
Charles W. Schrader 1957 Football
Ken Kraml 1958 Wrestling
William R. Henderson 1959 Football
Bill Mohlenbrock 1961 Basketball
Bill Small 1963 Basketball Captain All Big Ten Won Ralph Woods Memorial Trophy
Michael W. Dundy 1964 Football
Ronald R. Fearn 1964 Football
Jeffrey L. Ferguson 1964 Basketball
John Love 1964 Basketball
Bruce Capel 1965 Football
Rich Callagan 1965 Football Wrestling Baseball won nine varsity letters in football wrestling and baseball
James J. Vopicka 1965 Basketball
Robert L. Brown 1966 Basketball
Larry L. Hinton 1966 Basketball
Stephen Kimbell 1966 Football Also ATO WM
Robert Bo Batchelder 1967 Footbll Captain All American
Bob Bachman 1967 Swimming Captain 65-66 the greatest swimmer in Illinois history – coach Al Kingel – Big Ten Medal of Honor
Ron Bess 1968 Football Captain – Bruce Capel Award Winner
John Wright 1968 Football Track Academic All American Illini MVP
Bob Bess 1970 Football
J. Patrick Keen 1970 Golf Captain
Rich Brennan 1971 Football
Bob Burns 1971 Football
John Kaiser 1971 Football
J. Patrick Keen 1971 Golf
Dave Bear Wright 1972 Football
Bruce Beck 1972 Golf
John Spiller 1972 Football
Rick Wack 1972 Tennis All Big Ten
Niles Bakke 1973 Golf
Randy Cordova 1973 Baseball
Bruce Dobson 1974 Football
John Levanti 1974 Football
Dave Lundstedt 1975 Baseball
Rick Peekel 1975 Baseball
Marc Meatball Fagot 1975 Football
Tom Hicks 1975 Football All Big Ten
Mark Peterson 1975 Football
Mike Waller 1975 Football
John Watson 1975 Football
Mike Mick Mayville 1976 Baseball
Jeff Chrystal 1976 Football
Jack Dombroski 1976 Football
Jim Paul 1976 Swimming
Greg Scott 1976 Swimming
Ken Kellaney 1978 Golf
Ted Ahlem 1978 Swimming
Bill Brennan 1978 Swimming
Brian Kueker 1978 Track
Rob Rugg 1979 Golf
Jim Shanel 1979 Swimming
Neil Bresnahan 1980 Basketball Captain
Rob Judson 1980 Basketball
Bryan Leonard 1983 Basketball
Terry Cole 1983 Football
Mike Stine 1983 Football
Mike O'Brien 1984 Basketball
Sam Ellsworth 1986 Football Captain
Doug Altenberger 1987 Basketball Captain
Dana Anastasia 1988 Wrestling
Scott Peters 1988 Swimming
Jens Kujawa 1988 Basketball Captain
Mike Small 1988 Golf All-Big Ten – Captain
Andy Small 1990 Baseball Captain
Jeff Finke 1990 Football
John Wright 1993 Football Captain – Academic All American
Matt Heldman 1998 Basketball Captain
Ryan Potts 1999 Golf
Gavin Sontag 1999 Tennis
Tyson Brill 2002 Golf
Chris Dobrovolny 2002 Golf
Dave Mazurek 2003 Baseball Captain – All Big Ten All Big Ten Academic


Recent Posts

2019 ATO GZ Holiday Happy Hour

Hello Gamma Zetas,

For over 25 years Gamma Zetas have been gathering in Chicago for our annual buy a brother a beer, post work “Holiday Happy Hour”.  This tradition was started by the class of ’80 but has spread to all Gamma Zetas over the years.  It’s a great and easy opportunity to get your own class together while at the same time crossing over to connect with Gamma Zetas from your era and others. Here are the details:

Date:           Thursday, December 19
Time:           4:00 PM – ?? PM (stop by any time)
Location:     Porter Kitchen & Deck
                    150 N. Riverside Plaza
                    Chicago, IL
                    (great location… same as last year… just a couple blocks to trains)
Cost:           Cash bar plus a $20 donation to cover the cost of the minimum and some appetizers

So, mark your calendars and plan to stop by to say hello. Reach out to your brothers and let them know that you’ll be there and that you’d like to see them… not everyone is on my email list (or reads it if they are so need your help spreading the word!)

Note: Porter (https://porterchicago.com/) is one of Matt Menna’s ’93 very cool Four Corner’s Tavern Group bars/restaurants… same as last year.  Matt promises to make sure there are some great appetizers set out for us!

Looking forward to seeing everyone on December 19!!



Dane Luhrsen
Gamma Zeta ’77
Director of Alumni Relations
Editor Gamma Zeta News

  1. Congrats Larry Eppley ’82 Leave a reply
  2. Phillip Coover ’04 interviews Matt Katsaros ’02 on “Real Estate for Breakfast” podcast Leave a reply
  3. 2019 Tau Madness Winners! Leave a reply
  4. ’18’s Conduct Career Fair Leave a reply
  5. Fundraiser for T Squared ’77 Leave a reply
  6. Reminder – Tunney ’77 Fundraiser Leave a reply
  7. Doc Mohlenbrock’s (Gamma Zeta ’61) new book Leave a reply
  8. Support Tom Schreiber ’82 Leave a reply
  9. Happy Hour to support Alderman Tom “TSquared” Tunney ’77 Leave a reply